top of page

Timeless Season 1 Tv Review

**WARNING! There will be spoilers for the first season of the show but I will try to keep it down to a minimum**



For my second TV review I am going to be talking about the first season of one of my favourite shows, Timeless. This show is about three people, a historian, a soldier, and an engineer; who all got pulled into a crazy adventure of saving history and going after Garcia Flynn who is trying to rewrite history for himself. So Lucy, Wyatt, and Rufus all go through different time periods in history and historical events to try and keep them the same using a time machine. For anyone reading this who watches the show Supernatural (come on you had to know I was gonna mention it at least once); the show runner of Supernatural is also the show runner of Timeless. Which maybe subconsciously in my brain made me like this one too…just kidding. I really liked this show because it has an interesting idea and story to it. It gives a great look into history, I know for myself that I learned somethings about different events in history that I didn’t know before because of watching the show. I like how it gives a good variety of different time periods they went to. It didn’t just stay close to modern age, sometimes it went far back into the past which was cool to see. I also like how they have the different clothing for each decade so the three of them don’t stick out like sore thumbs. It was fascinating so see how different some of the clothes looked back then.


Another thing I like about the show is that each episode has a new time period that they go to and a new historical event that their trying to save. This show, sadly that it was cancelled, is incredibly inspiring to young people and everyone else in the world. I can’t remember where I read it or who’s it was but there was a story about a little girl who did her science fair project about the Hindenburg Blimp because of Timeless. When I read that, a smile immediately grew on my face because it was so amazing to hear that a tv show gave her the idea for her science project. Not a lot of a shows do that, at least that the ones that I see or hear about. And I just thought that was really amazing and inspiring. I really like how it has some actors who have been on Supernatural in it like Jim Beaver and Misha Collins because I think it’s kind of funny because Kripke created Supernatural and Timeless and it’s always nice to see familiar faces on new TV shows from other shows I have watched. I also like how it has both times closer to the time now like the 80’s and 90’s but also has far back times like the 10’s and 20’s.


Alright, now to dive into some of my favourite episodes from this season. I have chosen 9 episodes and there is 16 total, so I’d say that’s pretty good compared to picking every single episode like I almost did with my last TV review (which you can read right here if want). The first episode one my list is episode 1.01 “Pilot”, obviously because it’s the very first episode of the season. I like how it had a great introduction to the show, the characters, the plot, etc. It had a well-known historical event to start things off which I thought was good.

It had a huge cliffhanger in the end of the episode that left you eager to see the next episode, at least for met that’s what happen. The next episode on my list is 1.02 “The Assassination of Abraham Lincoln”, this episode had another well-known historical event. It was a very suspenseful episode having a lot of things happening at once that you didn’t know the outcome of what was going to happen. In this episode viewers also got a little more information about Flynn and what he wants and about Lucy’s new life after something happened when they went on their first time travel trip that changed her life drastically.




The third episode on my list is episode 1.03 “Atomic City”, this episode I really liked because it had an interesting historical event in it and it was a bit closer to the modern age then the previous episode was. It gave a lot more information about Flynn, who he is, what he wants, what he is trying to do, which was helpful to inform the viewers and move the plot along. I like to try and come up with theories about what’s going on while I’m watching a show, so this kind of got the gears turning in my head to figure things out. The fourth is episode 1.05 “The Alamo”, this episode welcomed us to the old west times with cowboys and riding

horses. There was a war going on and people to save, and if you know the three heroes of this show, you know that they won’t leave without fighting back and helping out the people in the town. At a lot of points in the episode it was really worrying, seeing what was going on with all the gunshots and trying to get everyone out kind of got my heart racing a bit. Something I liked about this episode was it showed more of a team dynamic, it showed the bond that has grown between Lucy, Wyatt, and Rufus, that we haven’t seen a lot in the previous episodes.



The fifth episode on my list is episode 1.07 “Stranded”, this episode was really interesting to me because it just jumped right into the main plot of the episode without warning, which was fine, it was like I said interesting to see. Something I thought that they all did really well for this episode was drawing out the suspense. Everything really kept you on your toes throughout the episode and it’s nice to see that kind of variety of episodes over the season. It showed some more team moments and again the bond that has grown between all three of them which was good to see. And, one of my favourite couples/ships in

this show…Rufus and Gia!! I love them together, they’re cute and work well together. The sixth episode on my list is episode 1.08 “Space Race”, I loved this episode so much because it was about one of my favourite moments in history when women and especially women of colour were starting to be listened to and treated better. Now it wasn’t a big change, but it was still a change. I thought it was really interesting and I liked how it played to each of the character’s strengths, with Lucy teaching people and building them up and Rufus using his engineering skills.


The seventh episode on my list is episode 1.11 “The World’s Columbian Exposition”, this episode was definitely more on the horror side than the other episodes were but it was a good change of things we’ve never seen before on the show. It kind of reminded me of a Supernatural episode, season 2 episode 6 “No Exit” because both bad guys in the episode

had the same kind of coffin chamber like holding cell in them. The eighth episode on my list is episode 1.12 “The Murder of Jesse James”, this episode viewers back to the old west again, this episode had some important points about colour and racism in it which I thought was good to have because these types of things need to be talked about, and yes they have been talked about before and have been addressed but it never hurts to still talk about it.



The last episode on my list of favourites is episode 1.16 “The Red Scare”, the big finale of season 1 that closed up the season with some great things it. I really enjoyed this episode, I thought it was very well done, it had a lot of great moments in it. It had an interesting historical event that happened, some more Rufus and Gia in it which I will never objectify to seeing. And it ended with a pretty big cliffhanger to set up the next season.


So, I would very much recommend watching this show, I think it’s really good, if your into time travel and history this is definitely the show for you. And even you’re not really into that kind of stuff, still give it a try, never hurt to try something new.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page