top of page

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief Book Review

Recently I have gotten into the Percy Jackson book series/fandom. The first book in the series is about Percy Jackson entering the world of gods, magical creatures, and monsters as a demi-god. Someone who is half-human and half-god. When I was younger, I started to read the Percy Jackson books but then I didn’t get quite get into the story at the time. Now I have gone deep down the rabbit hole of everything and kind of wish that I had stuck with it and continued reading them when I was younger.

Now to get into my thoughts on the book. I really enjoyed the storytelling in the book, I thought it was really engaging and descriptive. For me as a reader, I try to imagine the world in my head and play out the story when I’m reading it. And Rick Riordan did a great job describing the world and the characters appearances throughout the whole book. Also for each chapter, there was a very interesting and vague title that made you want to guess and continue reading to find out what it means and then you just get sucked in.

I really liked the characters in the book, especially my girl Annabeth (possibly my favourite character). Rick wrote each of the characters, especially the trio Percy, Annabeth and Grover, in a way that gave them each their own personality that were unique to each of them. Personally, I could see those personalities coming through in the writing and when the characters spoke.

Without trying to spoil something for the series, in the first book there is something mentioned but doesn’t play out in this book because it is meant for the whole series. I thought this was a good thing to bring out in the first book so then it will get readers to want to finish the whole series and find out what happens. I also like how the story combines both the mortal world with the godly world, for lack of a better name.

Another thing I liked and kind of appreciated about the series was that Rick, I believe, did research about the Greek gods and the world back then to make the story as accurate as possible.

Even though it is categorized as a kid’s book, I think that the books are good for all ages. I would definitely recommend the series if you’re looking for something to read right now and if you enjoy things like the Greek gods and fantasy, things under that genre.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page