top of page

Brooklyn Nine-Nine Season 1 Tv Review

**WARNING! This review has spoilers, if you have not seen the first season of the show do not read this review if you do not want to be spoiled**


Beginning of my review for the seasons of Brooklyn Nine-Nine. First up is season 1 of course. I thought this season was really funny, this season and all of the other seasons are about 22 episodes, unlike most comedy shows I've seen where it's usually only about 12-13 episodes. I like how it still tries to keep a storyline consistent throughout the entire season while also having a little story or a case for each episode. The cast dynamic is really strong which I think plays into the dynamic between the characters and the whole precinct which helps a lot. I also like how they always have a "cold open" for the beginning of each episode, those are always pretty funny. And I can't quite put my finger on it but something about the show just makes it different from other comedy shows I've seen that keeps making me want to watch more.


Now to get into all of my favourite episodes from this season. First is obviously, episode 1.01 the "Pilot". This was the first episode of the show and the very first episode of the season. Right from the start of the episode, there were elements of Peraltiago. The bond between Jake and Amy is very strong. I like how they brought in Captain Holt and the fact that he was an LGBTQ+ character in the show which brought in representation for people in the LGBTQ+ community. I like how they went right into the humour aspects of the show and that you could see the friendships between all of the characters.



The next episode on my list is episode 1.06

"Halloween". The Halloween Heist is born! This is probably one of my absolute favourite things in the show is that every season they have an episode about the Halloween heist. It's a really funny episode and each one has something new to it. In the first one, it shows the banter between Captain Holt and Jake. The third episode 1.11 “Christmas” this episode also showed the relationship between Holt and Jake and I liked how it kept to the holiday them of the show. It was funny to see Jake be the one in charge of Captain Holt instead of the other way around.



The fourth episode on my list is 1.12 "Pontiac Bandit". Like the Halloween heist, this is something that has been playing out through almost every season. The story of the Pontiac Bandit a.k.a. Doug Judy. I thought it was really funny and an interesting way to play the story and the character, because it was all introduced in the beginning and then revealed at the end of the episode. The relationship between Jake and Doug Judy is a whole other thing but it is very entertaining to watch.


The next episode is 1.13 "The Bet", this story has been playing out since the beginning of the season. The bet between Jake and Amy to see who could get the most arrests, but I'm sure you already know the story of how the bet works. Because Jake won and they went on an interesting, to say the least, date that he played but then they had to go on a stakeout. But then that all lead to the beginning of Peraltiago and the relationship began to become more than just a friendship or a partnership. And it was a really funny and cute episode to watch.

The last episode on my list is 1.19 "Tactical Village" this episode had some more Peraltiago in it. This time Jake seeing that he has feelings for Amy. I liked seeing more of the teamwork of the 99 with them working together to win the tactical village.


As I say in almost every review that I've done. If you haven't watched Brooklyn Nine-Nine yet, I would recommend watching it. It's a great show and fun to watch.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page